Select Page

Admission Requirements for AEC Programs


In order to be admitted to an Attestation of Collegial Studies (Attestation d’études collégiales or AEC in French) program, the applicant must have obtained a high school diploma OR, can demonstrate that they have the ability to undertake college studies. Additionally, the applicant must also meet one (1) of the following three (3) conditions:


The applicant has interrupted their studies for at least two consecutive terms or one school year.


The applicant is covered by an agreement between the College and an employer, or by the College and a government program.


The applicant has completed at least one (1) year of post-secondary studies spread over one year or more.

French proficiency levels for an AEC in English


As of July 2023, all individuals enrolled in the AEC program in English must demonstrate sufficient knowledge of French to obtain their attestation. Individuals holding a certificate of eligibility for instruction in English are exempt from this requirement.

The following skills will be evaluated using the Quebec scale of French proficiency levels: listening, speaking, reading and writing.

The Ministry regulations require more advanced oral than written skills:

  • Speaking and listening : Level 7 (B2)
  • Reading and writing : Level 4 (A2)

TAV College will not provide your attestation if you have not demonstrated sufficient French knowledge. Proof of this level of French language proficiency is required BEFORE the start of the program OR DURING the program. This proof will be placed in the students’ file. Students can have access to francization services before, during and after their studies. Please contact the international academic advisor for in-college French courses.

Recognized French Language Tests: TEFAQ, TCF-Québec, TCF-Canada, TEF, TEF Canada, TCF, DELF and DALF 

Period of validity

All standardized tests have a validity period. A test that is no longer valid will not be accepted by TAV College. However, an attestation that was valid at the time of admission, but is no longer valid because studies have been extended, will be recognized. A student who has demonstrated attainment of levels 7 and 4 will not have to retake a standardized test.

Updated: April 15, 2024

Do you have questions or comments?
Skip to content